Betsy Whitefield Award

The Betsy Whitefield Award is awarded to the champion team of that season. Betsy had donated the bowl for the trophy since the Lake Placid Curling Club did not have a trophy for the season’s winners. Betsy was a very enthusiastic former member of Lake Placid Curling Club. Betsy passed away in 2012 and the trophy was renamed in her memory.

Award Recipients
2019-21 Team McKernan in session one
2019-21 Team Dalton in session Two

Barbara Brandt Award

The Barbara Brandt Award is awarded to the most improved player for the current season and the recipient is chosen by past recipients. Ed and Barbara Brandt moved to the Adirondacks already being avid curlers. They were asked to start a curling club and, Lake Placid Curling Club  was accepted into the GNCC (Grand National Curling Club) in 1981. Both had a strong love for curling and wanted to teach new people how to curl. The award was named after Barbara after she passed from a car accident.

Award Recipients
2019-20 Jerry Stewart

Who Gives a Hoot? Award

Hoot trophy

The Who Gives A Hoot friendly bonspiel was established in 2014 by LPCC member Amber McKernan. It is a bonspiel between Huntingdon Curling Club out of Quebec and Lake Placid Curling Club, alternately hosted by each club. Member Tom McKernan carved the trophy from stone depicting an owl standing on a curling stone. The winner is determined by the total stones scored by each club.

Go to Top